Sonetto 42

.
SONNET 42
.

‘My future will not copy fair my past’—
I wrote that once; and thinking at my side
My ministering life-angel justified
The word by his appealing look upcast
To the white throne of God, I turned at last,
And there, instead, saw thee, not unallied
To angels in thy soul! Then I, long tried
By natural ills, received the comfort fast,
While budding, at thy sight, my pilgrim’s staff
Gave out green leaves with morning dews impearled.
I seek no copy now of life’s first half:
Leave here the pages with long musing curled,
And write me new my future’s epigraph,
New angel mine, unhoped for in the world!

 

.
§
.

“Il mio futuro non copierà il passato!”

io scrissi questo un tempo e pensando

che l’angelo al mio fianco mi approvasse

volgendosi al bianco trono di Dio,

mi volsi e vidi invece te, non privo

di alleati in mezzo agli angeli.

Allora, dopo tante pene, ebbi in anticipo

il conforto, e al tuo sguardo si ingemmò

il mio bastone di pellegrino, con foglie

che la rugiada del mattino imperlava.

No, non copierò la prima metà della mia vita:

Lascio qui i fogli logorati dai troppi pensieri

e scrivimi tu l’epigrafe del mio futuro

tu, mio nuovo angelo insperato!

.

ELIZABETH BARRETT BROWNING

Published in: on aprile 9, 2017 at 07:43  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cantierepoesia.wordpress.com/2017/04/09/il-mio-futuro/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 commentiLascia un commento

  1. Grazie sempre
    Tinti

  2. Bellissimo

  3. Versi di alta e bellissima Poesia. Grazie Massimo. Roberta

  4. Magnifica! Piera

  5. Oserei dire ” Divina ”
    Alberto B,


Rispondi

